Derek Rutherford

Derek's published fiction dates back to the 1980s and his first acceptance in The Horror Show. Since then he's been published in countless magazines, papers, anthologies, and on-line sites. He's won prizes and twice been in the Honourable Mentions List for Horror Stories of the Year. Derek has published several western novels for Robert Hale Ltd of London.

Music

Derek has played in bands since the 1970s and is a veteran of many recording sessions and gigs. Currently Derek plays solo gigs with a focus on finger-picking blues and story songs; as a duo with Chris Smith - Delboy and Dave - renowned across the region for their wild nights full of fun; playing acoustic originals with "Home Grown Boy" Sid Harvey and local bluesman Steve Kent; with Cheltenham legend Gordon Wood in The Gordon Wood Band; and also with the amazing and very highly regarded rock'n'roll swing band Red Hot Boogie featuring top class musicians from Gloucester, Ledbury, Hereford, and Leominster.

Click Here for Derek's Music or have a listen to "Drag You Back" below:

 

Forthcoming Gigs 2017:

  • Saturday 7th January Delboy & Dave The Retreat, Ledbury - Big Craig's Party
  • Thursday 9th Feb Delboy and Dave Talbot Hotel, Ledbury
  • Saturday 11th Feb With Sid Harvey & Steve Kent Bishops Cleeve Bowls Club
  • Saturday 4th March Red Hot Boogie Market Theatre, Ledbury
  • Friday 17th March With Sid Harvey Royal Oak, Gretton
  • Saturday 1st April Red Hot Boogie Bromyard Theatre
  • Wednesday 5th April Solo Bayshill Inn, Cheltenham
  • Sunday 30th April Wth Gordon Wood The Strand, Cheltenham (Time TBC) - Cheltenham Jazz Festival
  • Saturday 3rd June Red Hot Boogie Ledbury - Big Steve's Party
  • Saturday 8th July Delboy and Dave Feather's Hotel, Ledbury
  • Sunday 9th July Red Hot Boogie Talbot Hotel, Ledbury (Afternoon)
  • Monday 24th July Solo, and with Gordon Wood Cross Keys Inn, Gloucester - Gloucester Blues Festival
  • Wednesday 26th July With Damon T Old Bell, Southgate St, Gloucester - Gloucester Blues Festival
  • Wednesday 2nd August With Gordon Wood Bayshill Inn, Cheltenham
  • Saturday 12th Aug Delboy and Dave Private Event, Hoarwithy
  • Sunday 27th Aug With Sid Harvey & Steve Kent Privaye Event, Winchcombe
  • Monday 28th Aug Red Hot Boogie Feather's Hotel, Ledbury
  • Saturday 21st Oct Delboy and Dave Talbot Hotel, Ledbury
  • Wednesday 6th Dec With Gordon Wood Bayshill Inn, Cheltenham

 

Forthcoming Gigs 2018:

  • Saturday 11th Jan Red Hot Boogie Courtyard, Hereford
  • Sunday 21st Jan With Sid Harvey Bishops Cleeve (Bully Wee Band support)
  • Saturday 3rd Feb Red Hot Boogie Huntingdon Hall, Worcester
  • Saturday 10th Feb Delboy and Dave Private Party
  • Saturday 17th Feb Red Hot Boogie Ledbury Theatre
  • Thursday 15th March Delboy and Dave Prince of Wales, Ledbury
  • Saturday 7th April With Gordon Wood Cross Keys, Gloucester
  • Saturday 12th May Red Hot Boogie Ledbury Rugby Club (TBC)
  • Thursday 26th July With Gordon Wood Cross Keys, Gloucester Blues Festival
  • Saturday 28th July Red Hot Boogie Private Party

Blog

Please follow's Derek's Blog for latest thoughts on all sorts of random subjects.